Appendix C – Officer recommendations in respect of proposal CGR12(c)



These recommendations are in respect of the new Morley Town Council Ward for polling district MSH.

The ordinary year in which elections are held

Ordinary Parish elections are held once every four years with all Councillors being elected at the same time. The standard parish electoral cycle is for elections in 2015 and every four years after 2015, but Parish elections may be in held in other years so that they can coincide with other elections and share costs.

New or revised parish electoral arrangements come into force at ordinary Parish elections, rather than parish by-elections, so they usually have to wait until the next scheduled Parish elections. They can come into force sooner only if the terms of office of sitting Parish Councillors are cut so that earlier Parish elections may be held for terms of office which depend on whether the parish is to return to its normal year of election.

It is therefore recommended that the ordinary year for elections to the new ward (polling district MSH) be every fourth year, in line with the existing cycle for Parish Council elections.

The next scheduled elections will take place on 7 May 2015.

The initial election for the new ward would take place on 22 May 2014, the date of the Local Government and European Parliamentary Elections, with a shorter term of office for those elected, being up for re-election should they so choose on 7 May 2015.

Ward name

Officers have taken into consideration the local surroundings and historical names associated with the area covered by polling district MSH and propose the name **Woodkirk Ward**.

The number of Councillors to be elected to the Council

Officer recommendations for the number of Councillors for the proposed Woodkirk Ward have been based on the distribution of Councillors in the existing Morley Town Council Wards, set out in the table below. The number of Councillors proposed is **2**.

Ward Name	Polling District(s)	Electorate(s)	No. of Councillors
Central	MSD	1653	3
	MSE	1386	
Churwell	MND	821	
	MNH	1841	4
	MNI	1515	
Elmfield	MSC	1869	4
	MSG	1937	
Scatcherd	MNC	3102	5
	MNE	1788	

Woodkirk	MSH	2501	2
Topcliffe	MSI MSJ	1147 2260	5
	MSF	1254	
Teale	MSA MSB	1615 1220	3